The Eighth Day Series

The Eighth Day (Eighth Day, #1)The Eighth Day
by Dianne K. Salerni
Grades 5-8

When Jax’s father is killed, he is surprised to learn that his father made some 18-year-old boy his guardian. Jax wants to go live with his cousins, but instead is forced to stay with Riley who often doesn’t have enough food in the house. But when he wakes up on the Thursday morning after his thirteenth birthday to find a world with no other people in it, he learns that he and Riley are part of a special group. As Transitioners, they live through an eighth day that falls between Wednesday and Thursday. But there is evil in this eighth day, tracing back to the time of Merlin & King Arthur, and it is up to Jax to help stop it. A thrilling fantasy. Highly recommended for grades 5-8.

The Inquisitor's Mark (Eighth Day, #2)The Inquisitor’s Mark
by Dianne K. Salerni
Grades 4-8

Picking up where The Eighth Day left off, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline are in hiding in a remote cabin protected by the Crandalls. The world and the eighth day have survived but the danger is not over yet. The Dulacs (who everyone believes killed Jax’s father) have kidnapped Billy, Jax’s best friend from Normal life. When Riley disappears into the Eighth Day timeline with Evangeline, Jax takes it upon himself to go and rescue Billy with the help of Tegan and Thomas. At the Dulac stronghold in New York City, Billy learns more about this powerful enemy as well as himself, his family, and his father. An exciting continuation of the epic battle for good and evil started in The Eighth Day. Highly recommended for grades 4-8. Must read the series in order.

The Morrigan's Curse (Eighth Day, #3)The Morrigan’s Curse
by Dianne K. Salerni
Grades 5 & up

In this third (and hopefully not last!) adventure in the Eighth Day series, Addie has been kidnapped by the Kin who are trying to end the Eighth Day. She believes that she is the last of her line, not knowing Evangeline is still alive. Meanwhile, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline are doing their best to locate and rescue her. But Addie does not realize how truly evil these Kin are, and may not want to be rescued. It will take a lot of negotiating and strained alliances between the Transitioners and some of the Kin to defeat the others as they once again join forces in an epic battle to prevent the Eighth Day spell from being broken. Told in alternating points of view between Addie and Jax, readers will be on the edge of their seats throughout. Highly recommended for grade 5 & up. Must read the series in order.

This entry was posted in Adventure, Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *