Real Friends

Real FriendsReal Friends
by Shannon Hale
Grades 3 & up

This poignant graphic memoir takes a hard look at the feelings of loneliness that are all too often glossed over in elementary school. Young Shannon is on the outskirts of the In Group — sometimes included, sometimes excluded, always on the fringes, and always worried about being left behind. Her anxiety and worries are even more real thanks to the stunning illustrations and brilliant colors. While the adults in the book don’t seem concerned, Shannon’s worries will resonate with young readers. A must read for fans of Sisters and Drama, as well as anyone who feels that they don’t quite fit in. Highly recommended for grades 3 & up.

This entry was posted in Graphic Novels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *